Friday, May 11, 2012

Mini Reviews: Hollyweird by Terri Clark and Article 5 by Kristen Simmons

From Goodreads: My best friend, Des, and I totally freaked when we won the contest to meet THE Dakota Danvers in Hollywood. But now we’re finding out he’s SO not the angel everyone believes him to be. In fact, Dakota is the son of Satan, wreaking havoc on Hollywood and creating an evil army hellbent on world domination. Lucky for us, Dakota’s super-cute personal assistant, Jameson, is a fallen angel trying to get his wings back, and he’s working undercover to squash his demon boss’s plan. If Jameson hadn’t taken me under his wing I’d be in serious trouble, because I’m a total newb when it comes to conquering evil. But, truth be told, that sexy angel’s got me all aflutter and may be one temptation I can’t resist.

My Rating: 3.5 hearts 

Thoughts on the Novel: Hollyweird by Terri Clark is a book that delivers what it’s supposed to: a fun and light story from the viewpoints of one girl who meets a celebrity that turns out to be a demon and the celebrity’s personal assistant who’s a fallen angel determined to get his wings back by stopping his boss’ unknown evil plan. Although the romance between Aly and Jameson was a little instantaneous (but cute), the characters were rather ordinary, and they sometimes seemed to sound like an adult instead of a teen; the writing was entertaining and made me laugh occasionally. I especially enjoyed how Clark incorporated the names of some celebrities into her story and the reactions of Aly, Des and Missy when they succumbbed to the seven sins. I’d have fallen prey to gluttony and greed myself!

Hollyweird was released on May 8, 2012 by Flux Books.

In exchange for an honest review, this ARC was received from the publisher (Flux Books) for free via NetGalley.

From Goodreads: New York, Los Angeles, and Washington, D.C., have been abandoned. The Bill of Rights has been revoked, and replaced with the Moral Statutes. There are no more police - instead, there are soldiers. There are no more fines for bad behavior - instead, there are arrests, trials, and maybe worse. People who get arrested usually don't come back. Seventeen-year-old Ember Miller is old enough to remember that things weren't always this way. Living with her rebellious single mother, it's hard for her to forget that people weren't always arrested for reading the wrong books or staying out after dark. It's hard to forget that life in the United States used to be different. Ember has perfected the art of keeping a low profile. She knows how to get the things she needs, like food stamps and hand-me-down clothes, and how to pass the random home inspections by the military. Her life is as close to peaceful as circumstances allow. That is, until her mother is arrested for noncompliance with Article 5 of the Moral Statutes. And one of the arresting officers is none other than Chase Jennings - the only boy Ember has ever loved. 

My Rating: 4 hearts 

Thoughts on the Novel: Article 5 by Kristen Simmons is an action-filled dystopian set after the U.S. as we know it is gone and the Bill of Rights replaced by the Moral Statutes. Although I thought Simmons did a good job of depicting Ember’s world, it was never explained how this version of the U.S. came about and what happened to make people so willing to accept the terrible conditions of their lived reality. This question bothered me the entire time I was reading Article 5 so it’s a good thing the novel is full of action that distracts you from thinking about its iffy worldbuilding.

I thought the characterization was much more developed; and I liked both Ember and Chase. Even though Ember was sort of naïve and made stupid choices (e.g. running away from Chase when it’s obvious that he’s only trying to keep her safe and knows so much more about surviving on the run than her) which annoyed me, I liked that she had focus, adapted to situations, and wasn’t afraid to take risks. Ember's memories of Chase before he became a soldier not only allows you to realize just how deeply Chase’s betrayal has hurt her, but also lets you see later on how much his experience in the military has broken Chase. His relationship with Ember therefore was full of misunderstandings due to a lack of communication (and mistrust on her part) but did develop nicely over the course of the novel.

Recommended for fans of Marie Lu’s Legend and Veronica Roth’s Divergent, Article 5 was released in January 2012 by Tor Teen.  


  1. Glad you enjoyed Article 5 too Z! I agree, a little bit more information on how the world came to be the way it was would have been nice, but the characters definitely distracted me from wondering about that for too long and I got completely caught up in their story. Such awesome mini reviews!

  2. Hollyweird sounds cute, but I don't think it's for me. If it was a movie, I'd probably watch it on DVD.

    As for Article 5, I only *liked* Legend and Divergent. I just they were bit of the same ol' same ol' Hunger Gameish reads, you know? I do plan on reading it at some point.

  3. Me? Succumbing to sin? Never. LOL

    I think it's the current trend for dystopians to leave out the hows and why of the "new" world in favor of getting readers into giddiness asap. It's a little frustrating, but I can imagine everyone is tired of recycling the same old reasons for why. *shrugs*

    I'm liking the sound of Chase and Ember's relationship, and the way it develops. I could use a change of pace like that.

  4. I'm glad you liked Article 5! I haven't read a book in a month and I'm so excited to start something. I've never heard of Hollyweird but it sounds really cute.

  5. Hollyweird sounds like a fun read that I could get through fast. And with the great weather in Vancouver right now, its exactly the kind of book I'm looking for.

  6. I seriously love your mini reviews! They're short but so informing and insightful. <3 Hollyweird sounds really fun! I think I'll have to check it out, especially if it's funny. :3 And I'm glad you liked Article 5! I did, too. Ember also annoyed me at times, but overall, I liked the book a lot. Fabulous mini reviews! :D <3

  7. Great reviews! I loved Article 5 it was a really exciting plot. I also have Hollyweird from Netgalley i've been seeing good things about it.

  8. I've had Article 5 on my TBR list since it came out, so I'm glad to hear it was good.

    Sorry I have not been by in awhile - been a terrible blogger lately!


I love comments and will reply back via either email or stopping by your blog. Please note that this is an award-free zone.