Wednesday, January 12, 2011

Waiting on Wednesday: The False Princess and Exposed

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme held by Jill at Breaking the Spine to feature upcoming books that we can't wait to get our hands on.

This week I'm waiting for two debut novels. One will be released in January and the other is scheduled to have a February release.

Title: The False Princess
Author: Eilis O'Neal
Publisher: EgmontUSA
Date of Release: January 25, 2011

Goodreads Description: Princess and heir to the throne of Thorvaldor, Nalia's led a privileged life at court. But everything changes when it's revealed, just after her sixteenth birthday, that she is a false princess, a stand-in for the real Nalia, who has been hidden away for her protection. Cast out with little more than the clothes on her back, the girl now called Sinda must leave behind the city of Vivaskari, her best friend, Keirnan, and the only life she's ever known. Sinda is sent to live with her only surviving relative, an aunt who is a dyer in a distant village. She is a cold, scornful woman with little patience for her newfound niece, and Sinda proves inept at even the simplest tasks. But when Sinda discovers that magic runs through her veins - long-suppressed, dangerous magic that she must learn to control - she realizes that she can never learn to be a simple village girl. Returning to Vivaskari for answers, Sinda finds her purpose as a wizard scribe, rediscovers the boy who saw her all along, and uncovers a secret that could change the course of Thorvaldor's history, forever. A dazzling first novel, The False Princess is an engrossing fantasy full of mystery, action, and romance.

Why am I waiting? Imagine being a princess and having your every whim catered to, and then finding out that you're actually not and being thrown out. As if that's not enough, then Sinda learns that she's capable serious of magic! Not only does that sound like a fun plot to me but I'm crossing my fingers that there's some revenge thrown in there for good measure. I'm so evil!

Title: Exposed
Author: Kimberly Marcus
Publisher: Random House Books for Young Readers
Date of Release: February 22, 2011

Goodreads Description: Sixteen-year-old Liz Grayson is photogirl - sharp, focused and ready to take the world by storm with her camera. But Liz's entire life is called into question when her brother is accused of a crime - and the accuser is Liz's own best friend. As the aftershocks from that accusation rip through Liz's world, everything she thought she knew about photography, family, friendship and herself, shifts out of focus. And for the first time in her life, Liz finds herself unable to trust her own point of view. Told in stunning, searingly raw free verse,  Exposed is Kimberly Marcus's gut-wrenching, riveting debut and will appeal to fans of Ellen Hopkins, Laurie Halse Anderson and Virginia Euwer Wolff.

Why am I waiting? It sounds like a more darker read and so will be good for when I'm actually in the mood to think. I'm also looking forward to reading about Liz's reactions and the way her relationships will be affected since the accused is her brother and the accuser is her best friend. 

19 comments:

  1. Great pick! This sounds interesting..I'll have to check it out!

    I just wanted to stop by and say that I have given you and your blog The Stylish award! This is the link for the post:
    http://lulu-bookaddict.blogspot.com/2011/01/stylish-blogger-award-and-teaser.html

    Congrats!
    -Lulu the Bookaddict
    www.lulu-bookaddict.blogspot.com

    ReplyDelete
  2. "Not only does that sound like a fun plot to me but I'm crossing my fingers that there's some revenge thrown in there for good measure. I'm so evil!"

    Haha, I had the same thought! I can't wait for this one to come out. I hope she uses her magic to get at least a little revenge. >:)

    ReplyDelete
  3. I heard wonderful things about The False Princess I have it added to my long list.

    My WOW

    ReplyDelete
  4. These are different. Never heard of them. I've also never read a book in free verse. I like the premise of Exposed, but don't know if I'll like that kind of writing. I'm going to check it out though. Good picks. Fresh.

    ReplyDelete
  5. I have both of these on my wish list. Great picks!

    ReplyDelete
  6. Although The False Princess's plot reminds me a bit of Incarceron the magical twist makes it worth wishing for - thanks for your picks!

    ReplyDelete
  7. Two great picks and both so different! Running off to add to my wishlist :)

    ReplyDelete
  8. Love the sound of 'Exposed' Never seen it before! Thank you

    ReplyDelete
  9. I love finding debut novels!! Great picks!

    ReplyDelete
  10. These two sound really good, I have them both on my list. Great picks!

    ReplyDelete
  11. Both are great picks! And we don't have to wait too long for either, so that's a big bonus:) The False Princess is one I'm really looking forward to, it just sounds so good, I hope it lives up to the blurb:)

    ReplyDelete
  12. I can't wait for the False Princess! It's going to be great! Great picks this week! Here's mine:
    http://thebucketlist-gina.blogspot.com/2011/01/waiting-on-wednesday-graveminder.html
    Happy reading!

    ReplyDelete
  13. I am currently reading False Princess, its better than I expected it to be. Hope you enjoy it! Can't wait to read exposed. Here is our http://www.chron.com/disp/story.mpl/ap/latinamerica/7375236.html

    ReplyDelete
  14. Great picks! I am waiting on False Princess as well. Also, I emailed you for your address so I could mail you Last Sacrifice. Let me know if you didn't get the email. I'm at chris327@mac.com.

    ReplyDelete
  15. here's mine http://tributebooksmama.blogspot.com/2011/01/waiting-on-wednesday_12.html

    ReplyDelete
  16. Great selections!! Thank you for sharing!!!


    Moonlight Gleam's Bookshelf

    ReplyDelete
  17. Both sound good. Especially Especially False Princess!

    ReplyDelete
  18. I'm a sucker for a princess story so I'll definitely be reading The False Princess! Love magic & mistaken identities & impostors and all that good stuff :D

    ReplyDelete
  19. Both of these look good, especailly the False Princess. What a unique twist.

    New follower...

    demitrialunetta.blogspot.com

    ReplyDelete

I love comments and will reply back via either email or stopping by your blog. Please note that this is an award-free zone.